Annex SL in Brief – Standardising Management System Standards

Many organisations seek to implement and certify multiple management system standards. This has led to the need to easily combine or integrate them in an effective and efficient manner. To date subtle and not so subtle differences in requirements and terminology across Management system standards have made such integration difficult.

However, have no fear – Annex SL is now here! With the objective of delivering consistent and compatible management system standards Annex SL will attempt to make this process easier.

The major clause numbers and titles of all management system standards will be identical. They are:


1. Scope

2. Normative references

3. Terms and definitions

4. Context of the organisation

5. Leadership

6. Planning

7. Support

8. Operation

9. Performance evaluation

10. Improvement.

The Introduction, Scope and Normative references will have content that are specific to each discipline and each standard can have its own bibliography.

Annex SL describes the framework for a generic management system, so when you see the framework in actual standards, there will be the addition of discipline-specific requirements to make a fully functional management system standard.

In future all new management system standards will have the same overall ‘look and feel’. Current management system standards will migrate during their next revision which should be completed within the next few years. ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 are currently undergoing this transition.

Back to Blog